California Takes a Strong Pro-LGBT+ Stance

California LGBT+ flag

All state-funded and state-sponsored travel for Californian diplomats has now been banned for destinations with anti-LGBT+ laws. The four states that currently are off-limits are Kansas, Mississippi, North Carolina and Tennessee.

Assembly Bill 1887 was passed into law in September 2016 but came into effect this year. The Bill says “California must take action to avoid supporting or financing discrimination against lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people”.

The states that are being targeted are states that have enacted laws that: repeal discrimination laws against LGBT+; laws that deliberately discriminate against LGBT+; and creates loopholes for anti-discrimination laws.


A list of states, compiled by the Attorney General, are to also be publicly available on the Attorney General’s website.

This is refreshing given the recent moves by states in the USA to limit the rights of LGBT+ people.