A German government spokesperson announced that Germany and France are joining the European Commission’s infringement proceedings against Hungary concerning its controversial anti-LGBTQ+ law.

The law, which bans the use of materials seen as promoting homosexuality and transgender identities in schools, has been criticised by human rights groups and international watchdogs as discriminatory against LGBTQ individuals.

The European Commission referred Hungary to the Court of Justice of the EU in mid-2022, asserting that the law violates the EU’s internal market rules, individual fundamental rights, and EU values.


However, Hungarian Prime Minister Viktor Orban’s Government has defended the legislation as a measure to protect children and uphold traditional Catholic family values.

European Commission President Ursula von der Leyen has condemned the law despite the Hungarian Government’s claims and describes it as a “disgrace.”

With the addition of Germany and France, 14 EU member states are now participating in the proceedings against Hungary.

These countries include Belgium, the Netherlands, Luxembourg, Denmark, Portugal, Ireland, Spain, Malta, Austria, Sweden, Slovenia, and Finland.

The growing support for the EU Commission’s actions signals a strong stance against the anti-LGBTQ law and an affirmation of LGBTQ rights within the European Union.